Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI)
A driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) conviction can have devastating consequences. Depending on whether or not this is your first conviction, you could lose your right to drive, have your car impounded, be subject to heavy fines or forced to attend mandatory rehabilitation programs, and perhaps even spend time in jail or on probation. (For a description of the penalties for alcohol-related and drug-related violations in New York State, see https://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/DMVfaqs.htm#dwi.) In addition, there could be serious collateral consequences, such as increases in insurance premiums, loss of employment, and a criminal record that will have to be disclosed when you apply for a new job.
NOTE: If you are arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI), it is in your best interests to REFUSE TO MAKE ANY STATEMENTS TO ANYONE until you have contacted a competent attorney to advise you of your rights. Remember, anything you say may be used against you in court. Call 631.654.2303 and the attorneys at the law firm of John N. Fath, P.C. will put their experience to work for you immediately.
In Nassau County and Suffolk County, DWI cases are prosecuted very aggressively, and new policies make it impossible in certain situations to request a plea bargain. No matter what the circumstances, the consequences are not worth it. Do yourself a favor — keep a $50 bill in your purse or wallet and take a cab home. Don’t drink and drive!
If this advice is too late for you and you already have been charged with a DWI or DWAI, don’t despair – the charges still can be challenged, even if you have failed the breath test or field sobriety test. The experienced attorneys at the law offices of John N. Fath, P.C. will thoroughly investigate the circumstances of your arrest and will be at your side when you are arraigned in court. Our goal is to get you released from custody or jail as quickly as possible, and to obtain a dismissal or reduction in charges to a result that will have little or no impact on your life and your livelihood.
Any type of conviction for DWI or DWAI will result in your driver’s license being suspended or revoked. If you think you can still drive, THINK AGAIN! Under New York State law, it is a CRIME to drive a motor vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked for any reason, but the penalties are particularly severe if you drive when your license has been suspended or revoked because of a DWI or DWAI conviction. In this case, you will be fined at least $500 and you will be sentenced to jail or probation. In addition, the police may impound the vehicle you were driving when you were arrested.
However, there is a way to avoid all this. If this is your first DWI or DWAI conviction and if you must drive for work purposes, it is possible to request a conditional license. However, such requests are not automatically granted. Your case must be presented to the court in a knowledgeable and persuasive manner, and the judge will decide whether or not to grant you a conditional license. With the experienced, aggressive attorneys at the law firm of John N. Fath, P.C. at your side, you can be assured that your case will be presented in the strongest light possible.
Don’t delay! The sooner you retain us, the sooner the attorneys at the law firm of John N. Fath, P.C., can get started on an aggressive defense of your rights and freedom.
Call or email us today to discuss how we can help you deal with your DWI/DWAI case.